The “other” messages folder on Facebook
This was recently brought to my attention, and I had absolutely no idea about this. I imagine most of you don’t either. On Facebook, there are your regular messages (private), but did you know that there is also another folder? This one is labelled “other”. I just checked mine and I found a huge amount of messages that I didn’t even know about! Most weren’t important, but many other folks I have talked reported finding actual winning notifications in that folder.
According to the Facebook ToS, when a company holds a contest on Facebook, they “must not notify winners through Facebook, such as through Facebook messages, chat, or posts on profiles (timelines) or Pages”. Not only can winners be missing out on prizes when they are notified via messages, it is against the guidelines to notify in that manner. Since not all companies appear to follow these rules, it’s up to you to check to see if you are a winner.
To find your “other” folder on Facebook, go your Facebook “home” screen. On the upper left hand side, you will see your messages (with a number next to it), like this:
Click on messages, then you should see the word “other” right under messages (still on the left hand side):
Chances are you will have a huge, gigantic list of messages you didn’t even know existed! When you click on a message, you will see all messages from that sender in a group. After you have looked at all of their messages, you have a few options of what to do with them.
If you want to save/archive the message for future reference, you would click the “x” next to the message. This will archive it (which will only put the message at the very end of the rest of the messages).
If you choose not to archive, you have other choices:
When you click on a message by a certain sender (it will tell you how many messages there are), click on their message and it will pull them all up.
From here, click on “actions” (top right of page), and you will see a pull down menu. Several options will show, including the option to delete all messages (this means all by this sender – not all messages in your box). You can also choose to move this string of messages to your regular message inbox, or you can forward, mark as unread, etc.
This will take awhile to go through initially, but once you have your “other” messages under control, it will be easier to keep up with them, and to check daily for possible win notifications, or other messages that might be important.
Were you aware of the “other” messages on Facebook?